Thursday, October 25, 2007

Player of the Year

In accordance to the same criteria used during the regular season for the "Shut Up and Play the Game" GameDay MVPs, D1 Football will present a Player of the Year award during the post-season. This award exemplifies HEART and HUSTLE.

There are great players that ride the coattails of a successful team. Then there are those guys that go and lay it all out there each week to help their team be successful. Those are true MVPs.

Each of the 10 regular season MVPs are eligible and we're adding a couple more as the season winds down. In addition to the regular season winners we've added several other names worthy of consideration. This list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists then down to 5 finalists then voted on by D1 Football's celebrity panel.

Not only will stats be compiled, but we also take into account the intangibles such as HEART and HUSTLE along with coaches and classmates and teammates.

Good luck to you all and we'll keep you all informed on the announcements forthcoming.

Current list:
GameDay MVPs-
1. Vinny Hokavar - Perry
2. Michael Hounshell - NDCL
3. Dan Goodrum - VASJ
4. Nick Proudfoot - Ledgemont
5. Toney Foster - VASJ
6. Travis Smith - Euclid
7. Kevin Hendricks - Madison
8. Randy Greenwood - Lake Catholic
9. Bobby Scott - West Geauga
10. Rossi Santo - Kirtland

Others for consideration:
Bart Tanski - Mentor
Nick Yeager - Madison
Howard Drake - Euclid
Devon Jennings - Euclid
Ashante Williams - Mayfield
Isaiah Charlton - Chardon
Josh Lewis - Benedictine
McConnell Smith - University

SPECIAL INCLUSION TO THIS ANNOUNCEMENT WILL BE COACH OF THE YEAR. This will be the kickoff to next year's Coach of the Week award we'll present during the regular season.

No comments: